Publish Your Article


Romania suffered “immeasurable losses” by not entering Schengen, says Lucian Bode

The Minister of the Interior, Lucian Bode, stated in an interview granted to the EFE agency, during his visit to Spain, that Romania must be accepted in the Schengen area, after spending more than 11 years complying with the requirements.

Bode specified that Romania guarantees the security of 2,070 kilometers of the external border of the European Union and deals with the flow of Ukrainian migrants, that is, it respects its obligations as an EU member state.

“Romania is a security provider at the level of the European Union, which respects the obligations of being a member state, but unfortunately does not benefit from the rights of belonging to the Schengen area”, the Minister of the Interior told EFE, according to

Lucian Bode, who was accompanied to Spain by the Secretary of State in the Ministry of Interior Bogdan Despescu, then took stock of the 2.4 million people who crossed the border with Romania fleeing Ukraine since the beginning of the Russian invasion, of which 80,000 remained in country, half of them being minors.

“Millions of Ukrainians have crossed and I assure you that no citizen has crossed the border without being identified, a fact that demonstrates safety for both Romanians and other European citizens,” the PNL minister also said in the interview.

Romania’s accession to this space and the situation of the Romanian community in Spain were the main points discussed with his Spanish counterpart, Fernando Grande-Marlaska, and with the representatives of the Civil Guard and the Spanish National Police.

According to the latest information, the representatives of the EU Council and the European Commission were summoned to the European Parliament to present an accession calendar and clearly state whether in December 2022 the Schengen extension will be put to a vote, so that Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia to be included.

What will the entry into Schengen mean for Romania

The Schengen area is an area of ​​free movement of people. Specifically, the 26 member countries have eliminated border controls, and the border can be crossed without presenting identity documents.

The 26 Schengen member countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Switzerland, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

At the moment, Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia and Cyprus are waiting to enter the Schengen area. The last state to join is Liechtenstein, in 2011.

For Romania, accession to the Schengen area will mean:

  • elimination of controls on people at internal borders;
  • common set of rules that apply to people crossing the external borders of EU member states;
  • strengthened cooperation in the police field;
  • judicial cooperation through a rapid system of extradition and transfer of the execution of criminal judgments.

Follow us on Google News

Source From: Libertatea

Related posts

Emilia Șercan publishes the plagiarism committed by the Minister of Education, Sorin Cîmpeanu, who appropriated 92 pages from the work of two professors in a university course. Then he stole all their work, signing himself


IPJ Ilfov: Anamaria Prodan filed two criminal complaints against Reghecampf. What were the charges?


Accident at a rally in Suceava. A young man was injured by a car out of control


The director of ANAF says that he receives "almost daily" threatening messages because of the controls: "It's clear that I disturbed someone"

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.